Why House Hunting is like Online Dating

Recently I have been fairly active on websites such as Spareroom, because I was looking for a new place to move to!

 

Aren’t we all familiar with the challenges: “I want a big room”, “I hope my house mate isn’t a psycho”, “What if it’s just a scam?”, “What if the walls are pink?”, “What if the house mate OWNS CROCS?”

Crocs and Socks

Nightmare: Crocs and Socks (Source: Sour Popsicle)

That’s when it dawned upon me: house hunting is pretty much like online dating. You don’t know what to expect, the visuals are often photoshopped and have no resemblance with reality. When it comes to the hobbies and characteristics – isn’t everyone laid back and up for fun, spontaneous and into the newest trends out there? Oh, let me post a picture of when I did my ice bucket challenge, so I can prove how cool I am. (I know, the ice bucket challenge isn´t so trendy anymore, how about just a really cool selfie with the cat?!)

Have you ever tried online dating? Tinder, Match.com, eHarmony – does this ring a bell? You might be familiar with the following steps…

 

1. Find someone who looks hot. First impressions are all about the looks. Are they tall enough, is their hair the right colour? Do they seem happy?

Megan Fox Transformers

Megan Fox in Transformers

 

2. Read the biography. What can they offer me? What extras do I get out of this?

Channing Tatum

Channing Tatum

 

3. The first message. “Hey, how are you doing? I like the look of you, this is who I am and this is what I have to offer”

Plate of Doughnuts

(Source: Guardian)

 

4. Praying for a reply. If it’s someone you really like the looks of, keep checking your phone every minute as they might reply to you from a divine intervention.

Lonely Girl

Lonely Girl (Source: Picphotos.net)

 

5. Let’s take things to the next level! When can I come over to yours?

The Proposal

 

6. I liked it. Can I come back?

Bachelor Juan Pablo

 

7. They’re having others round – it’s not exclusive yet. Ouch!

girl on the phone

 

8. Alright. It seems like you were better than the others at the end. Come and move in with me? Let’s share a bathroom.

Wedding

(Source: Dogfish Design)

 

Congratulations! You´ve found the perfect house. Took a while!

 

Psst. I´ll tell you a little secret: I love my Crocs.

Crocodile Guy

Crocodile Guy (Source: Daily Mail)

One thought on “Why House Hunting is like Online Dating

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this! And the croc mention caught me out of nowhere! So funny! “Aren’t we all familiar with the challenges: “I want a big room”, “I hope my house mate isn’t a psycho”, “What if it’s just a scam?”, “What if the walls are pink?”, “What if the house mate OWNS CROCS?”” So funnyy

    Like

Leave a Reply

